An important spot along the Himekaido, a historic detour around Lake Hamana
Lord Ieyasu had this sekisho (checkpoint) erected in the post town of Kiga in 1601. Kiga Sekisho was located on the "Himekaido", a road which branched off from the Tokaido and passed around Lake Hamana. The road came to be called Himekaido because it was frequently used by ladies and noblewomen, such as the wives and daughters of courtiers and feudal lords. The sekisho became an important point in the protection of Edo itself, and also of towns like Hakone and Arai. The Kabuki-mon, Hon-bansho, Tomi-bansho and so on have all been restored, and visitors can enjoy the atmosphere of a sekisho of the Edo period.
|Address||4577 Kiga, Hosoe-cho, Kita Ward, Hamamatsu City, Shizuoka|
|Phone||+81-53-523-2855 (Japanese only)|
|Opening hours||9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.|
|Holidays||Year-end and New Years|
|Admission fee||Adults 150 yen, junior high school students and under Free, 70 years and over Free upon presentation of driver's license, etc.
* Admission is free until March 31, 2019
|Access||Take the Entetsu bus bound for Kiga from "Hamamatsu Station" of JR Tokaido Shinkansen for approx. 60 minutes, alight at "Kiga Station" and walk for 3 minutes.|
|Photo credit||Hamamatsu Visitors and Convention Bureau|
updated on Mar 30, 2018
[wide area map]
- [sightseeing spots around "Hamamatsu Station"]
Tokaido Shinkansen Stations