Zuda-ji Temple | Japan Highlights Travel, for sightseeing around Tokaido

Hamamatsu Station 

[Zuda-ji Temple]

An ancient temple which Ieyasu and Hideyoshi visited as children, and which has a deep relationship with Naomasa

This ancient temple in Hamamatsu was built in 703 A.D. under the request of Emperor Monmu, and became approved as a Jogaku-ji Temple in 863 A.D. The temple is known for the residence of the samurai Yukitsuna Matsushita located in its precincts. Yukitsuna served the warlords of the Imagawa, Tokugawa, and Toyotomi families. The area was once called Zudaji Castle. It was here that Hideyoshi Toyotomi served as an apprentice for approximately three years, and Takechiyo (Ieyasu when he was a child) visited. The temple caught fire in 1564, but was restored with donations from Ieyasu Tokugawa and Hideyoshi Toyomi, who unified the nation. The Matsushita family were close to the Ii family, so they say Naomasa was adopted by the Matsushitas as Ieyasu's retainer.
Posted photos Main Zuda-ji Temple, where the Buddha statue to ward off evil donated by Ieyasu is temporarily enshrined
Three photos Upper left Bronze statues of Hideyoshi Toyotomi, Ieyasu Tokugawa, and Naomasa Ii as children stand in the precincts, upper right About a minute's walk from Zuda-ji Temple, there stands a stone monument on which is written, "Kaheiji Matsushita's residence ruins", lower Zuda-ji Temple is still treasured as a temple rooted in the community to this day (photo shows the main gate)
 
Address 214 Zudaji-cho, Minami-ku, Hamamatsu-shi, Shizuoka
Phone +81-53-463-8170 (Japanese only)
Hours 24 hours
Opening hours Exhibition room: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Holidays Open everyday (Reception closed on July 15th)
Admission fee Free
Exhibition room admission fee 100 yen
Access Take the Enshu Railway Bus bound for Kaketsuka from "Hamamatsu Station" of JR Tokaido Shinkansen for approx. 8 minutes, alight at "Zudaji" and walk for approx. 3 minutes.
URL http://www1a.biglobe.ne.jp/zudaji/index.html
 
Photo credit Hamamatsu City

updated on Mar 28, 2017

[wide area map]